Sri Vraja Mandal Parikrama

Description & Importence

Sri Vrindavana-dhama
There are many holy places of pigrimage sanctified by the contact of the Supreme Lord and His pure devotees. But, the topmost of them all is Vrindavana. Sri Vrindavanadhama is non-different from Sri Krishna (tad-dhama vrindavanam) because at Vrindavana the Lord enjoys the transcendental bliss of His internal potency. The Vrindavana dhama on this earth is a replica of that same abode.

It is also stated in the scriptures that there are seven holy places that can grant liberation to those who visit them.

ayodhya mathura maya kasi kanci avantika
puri dvaravati caiva saptaite moksa dayakah

There are seven holy places that grant liberation: Ayodhya, Mathura, Mayapura, Kashi, Kanchi, Ujjain, Jagannatha Puri and Dvaraka.

Vraja Mandal Bhoomi is covered with 12 principal forests and several other sub-forests which were the venue for Lord Shri Krishna’s sweet pastimes on this planet Earth, 5000 years ago. In the eighty-four kosas of Vraja Mandal, there are forty-eight different forests (vanas), which includes upavanas (sub-forests), prativanas and adhivanas.

According to the Padma Purana, there are twelve principal forests in Vraja Mandal situated east and west of the Yamuna. They are
(1) Mahavana
(2) Kamyavana
(3) Madhuvana
(4) Talavana
(5) Kumudavana
(6) Bhandirvana
(7) Vrindavana
(8) Khadiravana